Daily Prompts · Journal · Writing 101

This Too Shall Pass

Writing 101  Day 5: Hook ’em with a quote

This too shall pass

2 Corinthians 4:17-18

“For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory; while we look not at the things which are seen,  but at the things which are not seen:  for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.”

This quote came into mind and handy at a time that was truly needed.

For a young teenage girl breaking up with her first crush can be a very devastating crisis,  and believe me when I tell you for a young teenage girl this is a crisis.  There are no words to comfort their wounded heart.

As she told me her story between her sobs, I stroked her hair while she laid her head on my lap.  My only response to my disconsolate child were “this too shall pass”.   “Oh, mom” was her respond,  (expecting anything else from a broken hearted teenager), but nevertheless,  I continued with my words and tried to soften the wound.   Explaining to her, “I promise you tomorrow you will feel better then today,  and the day after you will feel better then tomorrow,  and so forth and so on.”   I assured her that she will meet many who will come and go, but one day that one special boy will come to stay and treat her the way she so deserves to be treated.

This gave me the opportunity to converse with her and how she will always face many challenges in life, many challenges that are out of our control along with challenges that need of her decision making.   Assuring her that life’s changes will always prompt her to choose how to handle from the simplest of situations to the biggest of crisis, but as long as she can remember that all shall pass, it can help with keeping the emotional outburst at bay.

All I can do is pray that she take heed of my advise, and grow to be a strong smart woman, and learn to handle situations with just the right amount of care and strength.

2 thoughts on “This Too Shall Pass

  1. I completely second your advice. The first heartbreak is the worst and the best is yet too come. Thank goodness I didn’t end up spending a lifetime with the first guy who broke my heart. It took a long time to get over it, but I have had such an amazing time on this great earth since him! It gets better

Leave a Reply

