Journal · Writing · Writing Prompts

The Daily Post: Morton’s Fork

Subject: If you had to choose between being able to write a blog (but not read others’) and being able to read others’ blog (but not write your own), which would you pick?  Why?

This is an easy one for me.  I would choose ‘read others’ blog, but not write my own’.  Why?, because I don’t find myself that interesting.  I do my daily chores just like everyone else I am sure, but yet, I am pretty sure everyone leads an interesting life out there.  I have read peoples’ blog and just stay in awe because of there way of life. Or better yet, those that lead an exciting life and they get to travel to all sorts of places, take beautiful photographs, meet different  people from all parts of the world, and write about their awesome adventures.  I sometimes live vicariously through them.  I do pick up on some feelings of desire to do the same.  Then I start procrastinating.  Oh well, I’ll keep reading.

One day I will get the courage to just write a bit of my daily happenings.

I would write one now, but I am a little hesitant, because it’s funny and embarrassing, not embarrassing for me, but for my daughter.  Yeah, she knows what she did.  Ok, but thats a story for another day.

I am also hesitant because of fear of being ridicule.  I don’t know why I should be, right, but I am.  I mean it is my stuff I am writing about, so then why would I be fearful of being ridicule of anything I write.  It’s my story.  Right.  I know people will always have their opinions, and we all know what they say about opinions,  but I won’t go there.

Anyway that’s why I read more then I write, even though I do enjoy writing a whole heap.

3 thoughts on “The Daily Post: Morton’s Fork

  1. What an opportunity for you to find out how interesting you really are! Would be great to hear more of what you have to say and see more of the images you are willing to share.

    After traveling for two years, one of the most important lessons that I have learned is that I was blind to so many interesting things that were right in my own ‘backyard’. I so regret that I wasn’t into photography when I was living at home because now I think of all the photos that I wish I’d taken.

    I now follow bloggers that photograph places that I used to live when they visit there and I think ‘ooooo, I wish I’d taken that shot’ and I AM SO HOMESICK.

    Where I photograph now (on the road) is really interesting to me because it is new but I’d bet that most of the people that live in the places I visit would find it ‘same old, same old’ and wouldn’t even look twice at some of the stuff I find ‘new and exciting’.

    So I for one would love to see what you have to share.

    1. I want to thank you for your uplifting comment, Lisadorenfest. I will be sure to start posting more and letting go of procrastination and just start living. As you can see, I have a terrible thing with procrastination. I read your comment when you first posted, but here it is I am comment ing now. I need to let that go. Next post I dedicate to you.

Leave a Reply

